new rear tire recommendations?

GV2013

Jun 6, 2010
My back tire is pretty much dead(worn almost smooth down the center) and I am looking for a new one. What kind of tires do you guys use in the rear? Most of the riding I do is on singletrack with a fair amount of climbing. I have also been thinking about getting into racing, but not sure if that would affect what tire I should get. Tires are 26x2.2.

I like 26 x 1.9 or 2.0
Foldable (most modern tyres are) which are much easier to take out or back in for punctures.
Maxxis Ignitor wore out too soon, other models last longer, ask your LBS, but tell them to be honest !!

will different width tires fit on my wheels or do they have to be the same as the ones that came on it? I have never gotten any tires that differed in dimensions from the originals.

im fairly new to MTB, but i would say same rims will do. Anyway it is specified on the tires.
I changed from 2.0 to 1.95 on the same rims no problem. It was a big advantage for me because i did a long holiday trip on gravel but fairly flat roads, wider tires slow you up quite a bit on long distances.
Maxxis Larssen model seem more durable to me.
From road bike experience, anything with kevlar on it is great also

ended up getting a bontrager Jones XR, someone gave it to me for my birthday. Anyone ever used them before?

GV2013 said:
ended up getting a bontrager Jones XR, someone gave it to me for my birthday. Anyone ever used them before?

I have the Jones XR's on my Trek(stock tires). They are pretty quick on hardpack but not the most grippy tires for cornering. Especially if it gets a little loose.
It will be ok on the back but I am soon going to change the front one to something like a Bontrager XR2, XR4 or maybe a Maxxis High Roller.