New to road racing...need bike advice??

dansadow

Feb 27, 2014
Hello,
So, I am very new to road biking. For the past few years, I've been mountain biking leisurely whenever I get the chance. However, next month I plan on racing in Cat 4 domestic road races throughout Ohio. The problem is that I don't know what to do when it comes to which bike to use or buy for racing.

I have several options for which bike to race with:

1) 1970's C.Itoh. It has a high-tensile steel frame. Bought it at a garage sale for a few bucks. I use it to commute & ride around the city. *I highly doubt this bike would be a good idea...as it would likely break down within the first 20 miles of racing. But after all, it is a bike.

2) A relatively new 7 speed Diamondback hybrid with an aluminum frame. I could try to convert it to a road bike. Is it worth the hassle to convert it? How much do you think this conversion would cost.

3) I can buy a new road bike. The problem is that my budget is $400. There's no way I can go over that (i'm currently in school and money's a problem at the moment). I've found several bikes within this price range on different websites. Do you think a bike of this price could last me a year or two of training and racing (until I save up enough money for an actual good-quality racing bike)?

So, what do you think is my best option?

Any advice on this subject is highly appreciated.

Thank you!!

I hate to burst your bubble here, but if you've been "mountain biking leisurely" for a few years, you are nowhere near ready to race even cat 5, let alone cat 4. But if you insist, look for a used Specialized Allez, which you may be able to score in the $400 ballpark. You're going to get spit out the back of the pack in the first 2 miles anyway, but you won't hang for one mile on a hybrid.