NEWBIE HERE. Have an old frame...how to build?

cee

Oct 4, 2005
Newbie biker here....
I have an old Murray that I found in a friends garage.
The wheels, brakes, handlebars, seat are all shot. Looks like only the frame is useable. Any advice on what I need to rebuild this bike to road riding conditions?

cee said:
Newbie biker here....
The wheels, brakes, handlebars, seat are all shot. Looks like only the frame is useable. Any advice on what I need to rebuild this bike to road riding conditions?
If it's actually one made by Serotta, send it to me.Otherwise find a nice dumpster to throw it in.

boudreaux said:
If it's actually one made by Serotta, send it to me.Otherwise find a nice dumpster to throw it in.
Is it that bad of a bike?

The cost of componants will greatly outwiegh any value bought to the project by having a 'free' frame.

Its a long ol list of bits to get a bike together.

this is one of those '50's or '60's cruisers or sting rays or something like that, right?

unless you're looking to restore a nostalgic memory from your childhood days and have big bucks to throw at it, you'll save a lot of money and time getting something at k-mart.

if you want to do a restoration project, do a "vintage bikes" search and see what you'll be getting into. here are a few

http://www.nostalgic.net/index.asp?L=456
http://www.oldroads.com/
http://rustyspokes.com/index.html

cee said:
Newbie biker here....
I agree, toss the frame. You can get frames for under $100-200 that'll be lightyears better than the Murray. The cost of components is where the majority of the cost is, so like someone else mentioned, the free frame isn't really worth it. Check ebay for decent prices on frames.