Newbie here, with questions

tdl123321

Mar 26, 2006
About a month ago the local bike shop was going out of business and I rather spontaneously decided to buy a bike. I purchased a Fuji Newest at a pretty good price. Anyway, I have really enjoyed riding and have already greatly increased the distances of my rides.

However, lately I am getting a lot of lower back fatigue. Even more so than in my legs. Is this a form problem or more likely that the bike isn't the proper fit?

Thanks in advance for your help.

It could be an improper bike fitting but most likely it's your form. Try to keep your back as straight as possible (this is what I hear you should do anyway). Try reading "Training Techniques for Cyclists". It's written/edited by Bicycling the magazine. It gave me some good tips for good form and riding. Hope this helped.

gclark8 said:
Sounds like the bike is too big, options:
Bring the seat forward, say 15-20mm, and up a little,
if not enough, consider a zero offset seat post.
Raise the stem by turning it over, if this is not possible try with a stem raiser. http://sheldonbrown.com/harris/stems/index.html#raisers A shorter stem, below 90mm, may reduce control of the bike.
For me it was the opposite, I needed to not lean over as much, mine was lower back.

If your not use to riding a lot your back will adapt just like your legs but if you are a frequent rider then its the bike size/adjustment or your form.

tdl123321 said:
About a month ago the local bike shop was going out of business and I rather spontaneously decided to buy a bike. I purchased a Fuji Newest at a pretty good price. Anyway, I have really enjoyed riding and have already greatly increased the distances of my rides.

However, lately I am getting a lot of lower back fatigue. Even more so than in my legs. Is this a form problem or more likely that the bike isn't the proper fit?

Thanks in advance for your help.