pedals --10 degree float or more

roblogos

Aug 13, 2004
I've been riding old Time ATAC pedals for several years on my road bike. I was under the impression--was told at the shop when I bought them-- they have 10 degrees of float; the new ATACS advertise that they have (only) 6 degrees.
I just looked at a three year old on the internet for ATACS which says they also have float of 6 degrees. Anyone know what reality is? 6 or 10?

A further question: what pedals of 10 degrees or more float do you recommend?
Besides the obvious Speedplays? (I got enormous feet --44-45 shoe size-- and think the small platform on speedplays will aggravate my already hot feet.)
Look has pedals that you can switch to I think 10 or 12 degrees.
I've also seen Crank brothers advertise a pedal system with plus 10 degrees.
Any suggestions?
Anyone ride on these pedals?

Oh right: reason I want a lot of float is for my iffy knees.........;)

roblogos said:
Besides the obvious Speedplays? (I got enormous feet --44-45 shoe size-- and think the small platform on speedplays will aggravate my already hot feet.)
I'm not sure that Speedplay's platform size would be a huge problem. My feet are 45-46 depending on the brand and I've noticed no hot spot problems with my Speedplays. I think the fact that the cleat itself is rather large helps significantly. See if your LBS will let you compare cleat "footprint" on your shoes...

roblogos said:
I've been riding old Time ATAC pedals for several years on my road bike. I was under the impression--was told at the shop when I bought them-- they have 10 degrees of float; the new ATACS advertise that they have (only) 6 degrees.
I just looked at a three year old on the internet for ATACS which says they also have float of 6 degrees. Anyone know what reality is? 6 or 10?

Look has pedals that you can switch to I think 10 or 12 degrees.
I've also seen Crank brothers advertise a pedal system with plus 10 degrees.
Any suggestions?
Anyone ride on these pedals?