Please Explain the Gear Notation

gregboyd

Mar 15, 2004
I'm fairly new to this and I am having some trouble understanding what people mean when they write 53X13 or similar. I have gathered that 53 is the big ring and 39 is the small ring. I also think this is the number of teeth on the front chain ring. Maybe the second number is the teeth on the gears in the rear block? If I am right so far then what is the "normal" notation for a standard bike (assuming two rings up front).

I have also notice this notation used in spinning DVDs and it would help me out if I could understand what gear they meant.

(I could just count the teeth on my rear block, but I'm not sure I understand it well enough to make the assumption that those numbers are talking about the teeth)

Thank you very much.

Originally posted by gregboyd
I'm fairly new to this and I am having some trouble understanding what people mean when they write 53X13 or similar. I have gathered that 53 is the big ring and 39 is the small ring. I also think this is the number of teeth on the front chain ring. Maybe the second number is the teeth on the gears in the rear block? If I am right so far then what is the "normal" notation for a standard bike (assuming two rings up front).

I have also notice this notation used in spinning DVDs and it would help me out if I could understand what gear they meant.

(I could just count the teeth on my rear block, but I'm not sure I understand it well enough to make the assumption that those numbers are talking about the teeth)

Thank you very much.