readying a use fd for install

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Michael Dart

"BD" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I'm a bit of a newbie with bike maintenance and tinkering and I'm finding that I am doing more and
> more swapping of front derailleurs on (mostly mountain) bikes. In order to prevent extra fiddling
> with the derailleur, is there an easy way to make sure the high-low adjustment screws are
> "centered" (allowing maximum adjustment) before mounting? It's always frustrating to get the
> derailleur on to begin adjusting the stop only to discover there's no enough adjustment room one
> way or the other.
>
> Just wondering if anybody has a quick way to deal with this. Thanks.
>
>

???? There's no "centering" of the screws that I know of. They just are where they need to be after
you adjust the stops. If that doesn't work maybe you have the wrong derailleur for your bike.

Mike

I'm a bit of a newbie with bike maintenance and tinkering and I'm finding that I am doing more and
more swapping of front derailleurs on (mostly mountain) bikes. In order to prevent extra fiddling
with the derailleur, is there an easy way to make sure the high-low adjustment screws are "centered"
(allowing maximum adjustment) before mounting? It's always frustrating to get the derailleur on to
begin adjusting the stop only to discover there's no enough adjustment room one way or the other.

Just wondering if anybody has a quick way to deal with this. Thanks.

"BD" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I'm a bit of a newbie with bike maintenance and tinkering and I'm finding that I am doing more and
> more swapping of front derailleurs on (mostly mountain) bikes. In order to prevent extra fiddling
> with the derailleur, is there an easy way to make sure the high-low adjustment screws are
> "centered" (allowing maximum adjustment) before mounting? It's always frustrating to get the