Rip offs

tadworth

Sep 9, 2011
I'm an engineer and i build my own bikes, are you all aware that the big manufactures are ripping you off, here's an instance, you are being forced to buy a complete new bottom bracket sealed unit when the bearings could be replaced, the standard 6002-RS costs a couple of quid, except they have had them made as specials and are non standard size, though they are marked up as 6002's. They're not even premium brand they're made in India by KNK, and cost pennies.

I might re- machine some units to take standard bearings, just to annoy Shimano.

It's only a rip-off if the manufacturer leads you to believe that the bearings can be serviced. Not checking beforehand about the serviceability of bearings is the customer's problem and does not a rip-off make. Moreover, there are tons of BB's out there from big manufacturers whose bearings can be serviced. Also, the majority of BB's if properly installed get long life out of their bearings. Since sealed bearings have been used in BB's since Magic/CODA brought them to the market in the early 90's, their behavior and durability are well known. You would think that given the nearly 20 years that have passed since sealed BB's hit the market, someone would have written a sizzling exposé, peeling back the corporate veil of secrecy to unveil to the public the ugly truth. I still haven't seen that story. For the record Shimano, with the exception of some Octolink BB's, has a solid service record with respect to its BB's. Internet forums are not red with the blood of Shimano customers gutted by the early deaths of their BB's.

Hi tadworth, probably ... ie. Shimano initially provided false marketing advise with the 670 & 7900 Groupsets by saying you could not upgrade from 6600/7800 to 6700/7900, then after a lot of noise from customers, suddenly, some components were upgradeable :)