Road bike (newbie help)

Dilan

Nov 12, 2007
Hi guys,

It's great to find a site with some Aussie cyclists online!

A small introduction. I love riding my bike, and always ride from my house to the city (Melbourne) along the bike trail. I have been doing this for around 4years now on a cheapo k-mart brand, "royce union" bike. This bike looks great, but is a piece of **** to ride. Now all the cables are wearing out, and I cut my leg in several places every time I ride due to frayed wires. After this craptastic bike I had given up riding for a few years.

Now I want to get back into it and get fit. This time I want a road bike and something durable. Now unfortunately I am a poor uni student. My budget is only $500AUD (I will be paying cash if that makes a difference
rolleyes.gif
). Now the only brand new one I can seem to find is the Giant CRX 4. Is there any others I can look at, any base models from Avanti?

I am also willing to go second hand (and reconditioned), but would prefer to go to a store and not Ebay. I spent a fair while on Bicycle victoria trying to find a secondhand bike store and the only one I could find is http://www.bicyclerecycle.com.au/. Does anyone know of any specials that are on, or second hard stores that will suite me?

Your help is really appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Dilan said:
Hi guys,

It's great to find a site with some Aussie cyclists online!

A small introduction. I love riding my bike, and always ride from my house to the city (Melbourne) along the bike trail. I have been doing this for around 4years now on a cheapo k-mart brand, "royce union" bike. This bike looks great, but is a piece of **** to ride. Now all the cables are wearing out, and I cut my leg in several places every time I ride due to frayed wires. After this craptastic bike I had given up riding for a few years.