Rollers versus Trainers

hippie

Sep 9, 2010
I have a Rear wheel trainer & it kind of boring & it's also loud, & feels totally differnt than the road. I was wondering if Rollers would suit me better ?. I have riden rollers before back in the 80's. Im no expert but i am fairly comfortable on them. I was thinking about getting some, because there are times at night i feel like riding, but it's Dark outside, also it would give me something to do :D. So can some of you tell me the benifits of rollers versus Trainers ?. Thank you

If there is all ready a Thread on this Topic, could someone please post a link. Thank you

hippie said:
I have a Rear wheel trainer & it kind of boring & it's also loud, & feels totally differnt than the road. I was wondering if Rollers would suit me better ?. I have riden rollers before back in the 80's. Im no expert but i am fairly comfortable on them. I was thinking about getting some, because there are times at night i feel like riding, but it's Dark outside, also it would give me something to do :D. So can some of you tell me the benifits of rollers versus Trainers ?. Thank you

The disadvantage of rollers is that they supply very little resistance. I use a 28mm Conti GP 4 Seasons and get to about 300 watts doing efforts before I spin out. If I use 23mm Conti GP4000s it's about 200 watts.

Like any indoor session you want to do a shortish workout so want to keep the intensity high so rollers may not be ideal.

hippie said:
...So can some of you tell me the benifits of rollers versus Trainers ?.
Rollers are fun and feel more like riding and as long as they have a resistance unit can provide great training. If you have issues with balance or riding a straight line, rollers will clear that up in a hurry or you won't stay on them long. Trainers are less scary, mindless and you'll never ride off of them even when killing it in a short interval or while watching an exciting movie.