Should I buy a Bike Mirror?

I hope a bunch of people respond to this thread. Because I don't think there is a solid yes or no answer. I'd like to learn for other peoples feedback myself.

I use a clip-on mirror on my cycling glasses (yes I wear protective eye wear). If I didn't think a mirror lowered risk or otherwise added some level of safety and/or convenience I wouldn't use one. But sometimes I have also wondered if the mirror is as much a distraction as an aid.

I also wear a helmet. If I forget my helmet I return home to get it. If forget my mirror I go ahead and ride. If I forget my cycling glasses then I will be wearing regular glasses which are protective enough [for me].

I've been using a mirror for many years. It's like wearing a helmet to me now, I just don't feel right if I don't have it.

Never have ,I rely on my hearing and great peripherial vision but it also depends on the area where you ride. So far so good.

I don't have one and have never tried one. At some point, I may get one to try, but I prefer to use my hearing and maintain the skill of turning my head to look while continuing to ride in a straight line.

I have used several types. When the mirrors stay put and stay clean, they can be really handy. The problem is that few stay put and the ones I have don't stay very clean either.

Many of they guys I ride with use the type that replaces a bar end plug on the drops. This works pretty well but is easy to knock out of alignment and I usually sweat all over it. I had another that mounted to the left shift lever - the visibility was great, but bumps would knock it around and it eventually broke off the plastic tab on the top of the shifter.

When you have a mirror and then loose it - you will miss it. They were especially great for doing rides with weaker riders, I didn't have to constantly turn or shout out to check if my pace was killing them.