Specialized 04 Roubaix Comp

marderj

Oct 3, 2003
I am looking for a new road bike and I read an article on the 04 Specialized Roubaix Comp.

Has anyone ridden or have any input on this bike?

Thanks,

Jeff M.

Hi. I am new to the cycling world and the Roubaix Comp is my first road bike. I test rode a LiteSpeed Firenze and a lower end Specialized and the carbon was significantly more comfortable. The Ultegra components handle well and this bike gets a lot of attention from other cyclists for the stellar paint job. The bike shop that I bought my bike misquoted the price at $1995 so I got a steal. My dilemma is I am 5'11 and bought a 54 cent frame and am thinking I should have gotten a 56 (Which of course is out of stock). I highly recommend the bike if you want to go on long rides while being extremly comfortable. Try E-bay for DuraAce pedals to go with it. I picked up the 7800 SPD SLs for $139. Good luck!

Originally posted by marderj
I am looking for a new road bike and I read an article on the 04 Specialized Roubaix Comp.

Thanks,

Jeff M.

Originally posted by marderj

Thanks,

Jeff M.

In general I really like the Specialized road bikes, but I am a little leary about having the Zertz inserts right in the seatstays. What is they fall out, or the carbon cracks around it? It seems a little too gimicky and it certainly hasn't stood the test of time.

I find the Allez Comp or Pro to be quite comfortable (there is a carbon seatpost with a Zertz insert - seems to help the ride and much less risky), but I am sure some would feel the all aluminum frame is too stiff.

I guess it depends somewhat on how long you are riding, too. Personally, I am willing to trade a little comfort for stiffness/responsiveness.

Sounds to small to me. You'll never really enjoy it if indeed its the wrong fit. I'm 6' even and ride a 58cm.