terminology/accronyms

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlie

May 17, 2003
Thanks to those who responded on line and privatly to my inquiry about whether a Linear LWB was right for me. I remember when you were walking in tall cotton if you had a “ten speed”. I am new to some terminology/accronyms. Would appreciate fill in the blanks or comments.

ABBREVIATIONS:
world of bents = _____?
LWBs = long wheel bases
CLWBs = _____?
ASS = above seat stearing
IMHO = in my humble opinion
DF = _____?
SWB = short wheel base
USS = under seat stearing
High BB = _____?
SWB = sort wheel base

BTW does anyone remember the old two-speed in the rear axle bikes that also had brakes inside the axle. In the 60s my sister had one and I took it apart to grease it. Once I got it put back together - I never understood how - I quit while I was ahead!

Charlie

since some of those terms came from my mind, I guess I should reply. World of bents would refer to
the World of Recumbents, the world those of us who are bent prefer to reside in or something like
that. CLWB = Compact Long Wheel Base, a more recent but not yet established term is MLWB M=Medium,
think "Vision" coined the MLWB term. DF has 2 meanings, one being Diamond Frame and the other being
Dumb F**k....the later used when shouting at a car driver who almost creamed you with his SUV
because he was redialing his cellphone at 30 mph. High BB = BB = Bottom Bracket and High meaning the
BB is located way up in the air, as opposed to a more sane (bite me) lower position. SWBs and
Lowracers have the BB elevated much higher than a LWB or CLWB. Higher also refers to the BB being
higher up than your tummy when you are reclined. ASS and OSS are the same re: Above and Over.
Surprised you didn't ask about the chipmunk or praying mantis riding positions. Some of the bent
language comes from the younger whipper snappers amoung us who have migrated to bents from Campy