The bike with the best value ?

iBcycling

Aug 1, 2012
First off, I'm totally new to this site. I have however been cycling for about a month now (wanted a new hobby and really enjoy it)
I think i want to test the waters for competitive road cycling or at least join a club. I don't want to look like a joke however, showing up to an event with a non-brand, crappy, heavy bike.

And I'm aware that the question I am about to ask has probably been posed here numerous times by new cyclist. (hopefully reposts are not looked down upon in this forum group)

My question is:

What is the best road bike i can get for under $500? (brands or models)
- I want to be able to race with it and be competitive
- But at the same time, since i am a student, I am on a budget

Which bike gives good performance, without hurting my limited funds. (I'm looking for value)

If I'm asking for to much at such a low price, let me know, I'm still a newbie to the sport.
Just so anyone doesnt get the wrong idea either, I am not planning to do competitive racing after my first month, i understand i still have much to train for before i can use my new bike to race.

Any insight is appreciated :)

Two words:
- Second
- Hand

Take a look on ebay, your local paper or bike shop if they sell second hand bikes and find out what $500 will get you.

Agreed. Get a good used bike off craigslist or such.

Racing on a new, or even used, $500 bike is going to be a challenge. Being competitive may be even more of a challenge, but good deals can be found with some dedicated and deliberate shopping skills.

Shop slowly and carefully. Upgrade or trade up equipment as you can afford it and as your cycling abilities improve. Buy clothing and accessories when you can and focus on training and finding some other racers to train with and learn from.

Worry about your 'looks' and what others think of your equipment last and least.