Training needed to maintain 350 watts for and hour

veloguy

Aug 21, 2003
What type of training does it take (or did it take me) to maintain 350 watts for an hour? Well, let me start offby saying that my background is running, not cycling. I have been a competitive runner for 25 years, so I already have a pretty developed cardiovascular system. I have bests of 3:55 for 1,500 meters, 15 min. for 5k, 25 min for 8k. Although I had dabbled in cycling, I had not ridden a bike in 5 years before August 2002. So, being able to ride under an hour for 40k was done in a 12 month period. Since I already had the cardio side of things, I had to develop my cycling legs. There are two things you need to emphasize: Muscular strength and Muscular endurance.

I don't lift weights and I am not a high mileage cyclist. I think my greatest volume was an average of 2 hours per day for 4-5 weeks. It was all at an easy pace, maybe 170 watts or 70% of my max HR. My average week is 8-9 hours.

I think the single most important workouts I do are intervals either on a hill or in a big gear on the flats. Here is a typical hill workout: warm up for 15-20 minutes, 6-8 x 5 min. w/ 2 min. between, ride uphill 320-330 watts turning a gear at 50-60 rpm's, my HR averages in the mid 160's(my max is 182), cool down 20 minutes. that workout only takes 90 minutes, but 1/2 of it is at anaerobic threshold effort. The key is the low rpm's for strength (my weakness). This is not a max effort workout! Just controlled.

You can work out all you want, but I don't think anything gets you racing fit like racing. That is the final piece of the puzzle. You can either do some road races and/or TT's. A local club has a 10 mile (16k) TT every Thursday night which I try to get to every week. That's about it. Feel free to ask any questions and I will respond as best I can, Kevin