Urethral irritation

Kathisings

Jul 19, 2003
Hi,

I'm very new to cycling and after my first couple of rides I came down with a UTI..did anitibiotics...then had to be treated for yeast from the anitbiotics. I've recovered by I'm still dealing with irritation in my soft tissue area, mainly my urethra (my sitting bones are coming along fine it seems). I know now that I need to check in to a few things, such as an anitomical seat, tiliting mine present one down, proper hydration, etc...but has anyone struggled with this when they were first getting into cyling??? Mine husband was previously an serious cyclist and is getting back into the sport. I am joining him. He's very educated but obviously hasn't had to deal with this issue and can only offer his experince in the "saddle" as a male.

Appreciate your feedback!!

Kathie

yeh, used to happen to me, unsure whether it was the cyclng or the other common cause... now I drink heaps & heaps every ride & things are fine. Try to drink at least a litre for every hour you are on the bike, that may help. & get a womens seat, Trans am is good

I agree, drink about 1 litre per hour of exercise and on a normal day about 2 litres of water is sufficent, also, try sitting as far back on the saddle as you can with the front of the saddle tilted down slightly, and also to help avoid the infection, have a shower as soon as possible after riding and empty your bladder before and after you ride, that helped with me (under doctor's advice). Let us know how you go!

Lactobacillus also helps in general to keep the good bacteria fighting the bad ones in that whole area of womanhood. Candida is extremely difficult to balance but if you don't, it spreads to other organs and deteriorates normal functions. Anyway, if you have more questions, I suggest you go to your nearest naturopathic/homeopathic store and ask them about this. The natural way is the best way to go.

Originally posted by Seecyd