Wearing out shorts in 2 rides - what to do?

genedoc

Aug 15, 2006
After just two 35 m rides, I wore holes in both thighs of my brand new PI bibs. I checked another new pair of shorts (Descent) and noticed they were wearing rapidly too.

I have a Selle Italia saddle and I am slim of build (6'2", 180#, 33 waist). Has anyone had this problem or have any idea what I can do to eliminate it? ~$25 in cycling clothes per ride is damned expensive.

Is the wear where the shorts are rubbing the nose of the saddle? Is there a rough spot on the saddle that would rub a hole in the shorts? Do you tend to grip the nose of the saddle with your thighs as you ride?

I have yet to wear out a pair of cycling shorts. I have had to replace them as I lost weight, but none of them show any signs of wear. When I started riding, I was 265 pounds, so if anything, one would expect my thighs to rub the saddle more than yours would.

Did you remember to remove your genital piercings before putting on the shorts? Those always tear the hell out of my Lycra.

RickF said:
Is the wear where the shorts are rubbing the nose of the saddle? Is there a rough spot on the saddle that would rub a hole in the shorts? Do you tend to grip the nose of the saddle with your thighs as you ride?

I have yet to wear out a pair of cycling shorts. I have had to replace them as I lost weight, but none of them show any signs of wear. When I started riding, I was 265 pounds, so if anything, one would expect my thighs to rub the saddle more than yours would.
That was my first thought. I checked the saddle and it's smooth. I've never worn out shorts either. I still have a pair from 1985 that I don't really wear anymore, but they have a lot of miles and no signs of wear.

It's strange.

If you have a bag under your saddle, check to see if the velcro straps are rubbing your shorts while ridding. I had this happen.

th4par said: