What to improve first?

Hammond Egger

Jun 11, 2010
I just started training. What should I concentrate on or try to improve first? Cadence, speed or distance. I can't believe how weak my legs seem to be, I walk about 10 or 12 miles on an average day at work. My goal is 30 miles with an average speed of between 18 and 22 mph.

Hammond Egger said:
I just started training. What should I concentrate on or try to improve first? Cadence, speed or distance. I can't believe how weak my legs seem to be, I walk about 10 or 12 miles on an average day at work. My goal is 30 miles with an average speed of between 18 and 22 mph.

JRYB.

just ride your bike.

Work on enjoying the sport. You'll be more likely to keep coming back for more.
Past that, try a little of everything. Try some longer rides, try some shorter sprinting efforts, and see what you like doing the most. The best part about being untrained is that you'll get better in almost all areas no matter what you do.

Find a local group ride in your area. Many groups have 3 different levels. Start at the beginner level and work your way up. The importantance of starting at the beginning is to learn the rules of group riding. Learn the hand signals for road hazards, debris, stopping, turning, etc. Learning to hold a steady line is also important in group riding so you can learn to draft. When ready, move up to the intermediate group. By riding with others, you meet new people and riding becomes a social occasion. Also, don't skip having a light meal in the morning before the ride. Distance riding takes energy. You'll feel better for it. Good luck.

cadence, meaning a consistant and smooth pedal ='s base miles that of which you need to form power and that you can enjoy while just riding your bike, as stated above, solo or in group rides.

Attitude! Improve your mental state and everything else will fall into place.

+1 to the first 3 posts, and huskey.