Why are stairs hard ???!

Rachel_w

Sep 11, 2005
Hi - I'm new to cycling but inspired by Lance and his exploits... I read several of the books concerning tour riders and there were references to the riders avoiding stairs / walking etc and getting out of breath real easy going up a floor...? Why is this... Aren't these guys uber atheletes??

Am I missing something!

Thanks

When you're racing a three week tour, every last fraction counts. Energy spent walking up stairs is energy that can't be spent on the bike. As soon as they cross the finish line, these guys are focused on recovering as much as possible for the next day.

artmichalek said:
When you're racing a three week tour, every last fraction counts. Energy spent walking up stairs is energy that can't be spent on the bike. As soon as they cross the finish line, these guys are focused on recovering as much as possible for the next day.
Well said.

Rachel_w said:
Hi - I'm new to cycling but inspired by Lance and his exploits... I read several of the books concerning tour riders and there were references to the riders avoiding stairs / walking etc and getting out of breath real easy going up a floor...? Why is this... Aren't these guys uber atheletes??

Am I missing something!

Thanks
There may be some truth to the other posts but the real reason is that when you walk or climb stairs you are using the same and different muscles in your legs and ass in different ways than they are used to while riding a bike. As a result their energy requirements are different and greater. Case and point, I am in Breckenridge, CO right now and I climbed 2 peaks today on foot. I traveled about 10 miles and acended more than 2500ft vertically over that 10 miles. I normally ride my MTB about 100 miles a week. When I was done with my hiking today I was wiped out and my legs were jello. I almost fell several times during my descents because my thighs were shaking. It is actually ironic that you created this thread today.

Ahh !