Wrists and arms hurting

carsnoceans

Jul 24, 2010
I did a 25mi ride this evening (on a trek 7.2 hybrid, paved road) and was wearing pearl izumi select gloves too. Moved hands a bit every mile or so but not a whole lot options for placement of hands on this bike...

Then i watched a fitting video on youtube. It seems that the bike stem might be too low and i am putting too much weight on the hands (225lbs body weight). I noticed my arms are pretty much straight and there is really no bend at elbows throughout. How can I make sure that this is a fitting issue and not something else? I am a beginner but despite of the new brooks saddle, my butt doesn't hurt, legs are slightly sore as expected but wrists and hands are in most pain. Is this normal?

carsnoceans said:
I did a 25mi ride this evening (on a trek 7.2 hybrid, paved road) and was wearing pearl izumi select gloves too. Moved hands a bit every mile or so but not a whole lot options for placement of hands on this bike...

Then i watched a fitting video on youtube. It seems that the bike stem might be too low and i am putting too much weight on the hands (225lbs body weight). I noticed my arms are pretty much straight and there is really no bend at elbows throughout. How can I make sure that this is a fitting issue and not something else? I am a beginner but despite of the new brooks saddle, my butt doesn't hurt, legs are slightly sore as expected but wrists and hands are in most pain. Is this normal?