Commuting during the winter time?

Steve7

Sep 8, 2011
I'm just getting started on commuting to and from work. My concerns are that the winter time will be much more challenging than other seasons.

Do you commute during the winter time or does the weather in your area not allow you to?

Here in N.M. it gets to the low 30's or so usually, but with being out of shape I'm hoping to get into shape before the temperature starts to drop.

Low 30's is not that hard to deal with. I ride during the winter months in New England and light layers are all you need. A decent windstopper jacket over a long sleeve jersey. Full lenght tights over cycling shorts work well. If it warms up you can remove the tights. Skull cap worn under your helmet will keep your head nice and warm. I use snowboarding gloves for my hands . Feet are a little tricky I have a hard time regulating my feet temp using cycling shoes. I refuse to pay over 200 bucks for winter shoes so have played around with different socks and layers. This year I am swapping my mountain bike pedals onto my road bike and try riding with my mountain bike shoes which are like heavy sneakers. Hopefully this helps. The key is light layers.

Originally Posted by davereo .

Low 30's is not that hard to deal with. I ride during the winter months in New England and light layers are all you need. A decent windstopper jacket over a long sleeve jersey. Full lenght tights over cycling shorts work well. If it warms up you can remove the tights. Skull cap worn under your helmet will keep your head nice and warm. I use snowboarding gloves for my hands . Feet are a little tricky I have a hard time regulating my feet temp using cycling shoes. I refuse to pay over 200 bucks for winter shoes so have played around with different socks and layers. This year I am swapping my mountain bike pedals onto my road bike and try riding with my mountain bike shoes which are like heavy sneakers. Hopefully this helps. The key is light layers.