Are time-trial bikes THAT much faster??? :-/

Babelfish

Aug 10, 2012
Hi all,

I'm new here and I'm sure this will be the first of many questions. I've been cycling for about 2 years (about 50 miles/week) but am recently starting to get serious about it. I just upped my distance to 25+miles (about 80-90 miles/week) and hope to be up to at least a 50 mile ride by the end of the summer. I ride a Trek Lexa WSD which has been a really wonderful bike (but I'm hoping to upgrade soon). My brother is my main riding buddy, and he rides a Trek Hilo 2000 (he's been riding about the same amount of time as I have). We live in middle Tennessee, which is quite hilly. My main issue is this: no matter how hard I try or how great I'm feeling, he completely leaves me in the dust! Our last ride together was an hour and 20 minutes and I went 21.6 miles and he went over 26 miles! I'm about 45 pounds overweight while he is small and mostly muscle, so I know this puts me at a disadvantage on hills, but is there THAT much difference between our bikes, or am I just slow? It gets discouraging to ALWAYS be behind, so I'd like to know if my extra weight is slowing me down that much or whether the fact that he rides a time-trial is the main factor in his rides being so much faster than mine. Thanks for any input!

-Lauren

Looking at this from a surficial view, I am pretty sure it is not the bikes that are making the difference in this case. To be bluntly honest and you pointed it out that your body weight is a big factor (watts/kg) especially on rolling terrain as you described. Happens to me too and I am a bit more advanced. I am a bit heavier (muscular build) compared to my lighter cycling buddies. I have to generate a lot more power output than they do and that is short lived, but on the flatter terrain I have a bit better chance of keeping up and sometimes I can return the pain. Key for me is working on sustainable power output near my functional threshold.