Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase wheels

stevebiker

Sep 7, 2009
I'm new to biking, and am looking for a tire that is flat-resistant. I don't want to carry a spare tube.

Someone recommended Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase tires, but others have said that Bontrager Race Lite "wheels" (different than "tires"?) come out of true and have other reliability issues.

Comments?

I use Bontrager RaceLite Hardcase tires on both of my road bikes. I've had them on my Cannondale for about 1600 miles and on my Paramount for about 200.

I've never had a flat on those tires, but ya never know, maybe I will tomorrow.

I don't think they grip as well in the turns as regular racing tires do, I know when I'm on a hard down hill turn on rough pavement they tend to chatter a bit.

But, since I don't race I don't care about that, although it might matter to you.

Other than that, I think they are good tires...too bad they don't offer them in something other than plain blackwalls. :D

stevebiker said:
I'm new to biking, and am looking for a tire that is flat-resistant. I don't want to carry a spare tube.

Someone recommended Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase tires, but others have said that Bontrager Race Lite "wheels" (different than "tires"?) come out of true and have other reliability issues.

Comments?

For a 'comment', if you are new to cycling also buy a teeny bag that is slung out of the way under you saddle. Put in there a tube, some tire levers and a patch kit. Weighs almost nuthin. No tire is puncture proof. Add a pump or CO2 and bob's yer uncle. Nothing worse than getting stranded.

Are the Bontrager Harcase tires much heavier than an air tire?

I don't want something that's going to slow me down.

stevebiker said:
Are the Bontrager Harcase tires much heavier than an air tire?

I don't want something that's going to slow me down.

You can read all about them on this link:

Bontrager: Products > >