cant adjust rear gears

andy765gtr

Jan 6, 2008
need some advice please. im a bit of a newbie to cycling and ive been trying for hours to fix an old Marin hawkhill MB's rear deraileur but cant seem to get the gears right.

when i adjust it to get the gears to down-shift through all the cogs properly, it wont up-shift properly; it kind of hesitates like it needs more cable pulled. but i can then easily adjust the deraileur so it does up-shift easily, only it then annoyingly sticks on some of the down shifts instead. so in effect i cant get a perfect gear change; its almost as if the shifter doesnt pull enough cable through or something.

admittedly the bikes well used and had a hard life, and ive done a big mileage the last year comuting on it, so probably its just got worn out; but seems to work fine apart from this fault. i havnt seen these particular symptoms mentioned anywhere ive looked on the internet. experts seem to imply that if you can get it indexed right in one direction it will be fine in the other direction as well.

is there a way of making the deraileur mech to move a bit further sideways each shift? its like its not moving far enough to work properly; or make it catch onto the sprockets by 'bending' something abit (look i said i was a newbie ok!)

or if i jus need new parts, what do i get, and how much is it gonna cost? cycling was supposed to save me money as well as the planet lol cheers,andy

Try lubing the derrailieur and adding new inner and outer cables as it sounds like a cable problem to me.

cruisin said:
Try lubing the derrailieur and adding new inner and outer cables as it sounds like a cable problem to me.

hi, yes maybe the cable.