Handlebar Bag for Photo Equipment

izirraider

Jul 27, 2003
Hello,

I'm a photographer and I am starting to tour on my bike. I need a safe and handy way to store my photo equipment on my bike and I figured a handlebar bag would be a good solution. Does anyone know of handlebar bags (or any other kind) that are specific for photo equipment with padding and dividers? ANy ideas suggestions and experiences are welcome. THanks!

ste

Originally posted by izirraider
Hello,

I'm a photographer and I am starting to tour on my bike. I need a safe and handy way to store my photo equipment on my bike and I figured a handlebar bag would be a good solution. Does anyone know of handlebar bags (or any other kind) that are specific for photo equipment with padding and dividers? ANy ideas suggestions and experiences are welcome. THanks!

ste
I think that a padded bicycle messenger bag may be better, due to the shock absorption provided through your body.
You might also consider a "camelbak" or other back-pack; for the same reason.
I've used standard handlebar bags, trunk rack bags, and panniers to carry photo equipment, but each time the equipment was housed in it's own protective enclosures.

Thanks for your reply.
I've been using a lowepro backpack to carry my equipment around on one or two day rides, but I'm planning a longer tour and it would get very uncomfortable to have to always be carrying a bag on my body.
I guess I'll try to get a bag custom made somewhere.

I think that camera equipment (real stuff) might be a bit heavy for most handlebar bags. I know that mine (Topeak 10l) got a bit bent out of shape when the load got a bit heavy.

What about a custom bag that sits on your rear rack?

Check out the Ortlieb Handlebar bag with special camera inserts for single camera and lens. The Ortlieb Trunk bag with self-made custom foam inserts is waterproof and works well but your camera equipment will really take a beating from the rear vibration.