How can I avoid bonking?

Pistol Pete

Aug 26, 2011
I'm an experienced rider and I enjoy fast group rides and also a little bit of racing. Although I'm a relatively strong rider, I have a serious weakness that prevents me front entering long group rides and races: I bonk easily. I can go all out and feel good for about 3 hours, but then suddenly, I run of of energy. And I mean completely run out! A grandma could beat me up a hill! So I go from hero to zero very quickly. Not a good feeling. I've had this problem for ever so I've been trying to solve it, but to no avail. Of course, at first I thought I did not eat enough before and during the rides. So I started to eat more, especially when riding. Since I can't eat solid food while riding, I take plenty of gel and energy chews. It's helping but not solving the problem. I've been entering an amateur race every year for the last 5 years. It's a 66-mile ride in the mountains. Just to give you an idea, the winner always wins it in about 2 hours and 50 minutes, which is damn fast for such a tough terrain with no flat parts. Every year, I'm always keeping up with the front peloton for the first 45-50 miles, and then I bonk and barely can finish the race. Last year, I had to stop on the side of the road and rest on the grass because I barely had the energy to keep my vital organs going! I figure there is something wrong with me. My idea is that I'm much stronger mentally than physically. I can push myself to the limit to keep up with stronger athletes. On short races, I usually beat much stronger guys because I can tolerate pain more than they do. But I guess this takes a toll on my body.
I'm sure someone here must have experienced the same thing and could share with me some of the solutions he or she has found.