Matching cassette (Ultegra) to rear derailleur (105)

razmaspaz

Mar 17, 2010
This is my first time posting. Hope I'm in the right place. I have a 105 derailleur and a Tiagra? rear cassette. I want to upgrade the bike to an 11-28 and the only two options I can find that are reasonable are the Sram force cassette and a Shimano Ultegra cassette. I'm trying to figure out what I need to swap out to make this work. If I go Ultegra Can I swap the cassette (and possibly chain for wear) or do I need to swap the derailleur, and potentially the shift levers along with it? If I go sram supposedly its compatible, but will it shift poorly because its not shimano?

Thanks ahead of time.

alfeng said:
Well, of course I could be wrong, but I believe the SRAM Force cassette has 10 cogs ...

The Ultegra cassette may have 10 or 9 cogs ...

Your Tiagra cassette probably has 9 cogs ...

So, the problem you may encounter isn't with the 105 rear derailleur, per se, it will be with your shifters ... and/or chain.

What shifters does your bike have? What is the model number?

I don't know the model number, can't find it on the shifter, but its Tiagra and it is 9 speed, or at least its set up for 9 speed. So is it possible to get a 9 speed cassette that covers 11-28? All this time I thought it was 10 speed.

Is moving to 10 speed a new chain, crank, and shifters?

razmaspaz said:
I have a 105 derailleur and a Tiagra? rear cassette. I want to upgrade the bike to an 11-28 and the only two options I can find that are reasonable are the Sram force cassette and a Shimano Ultegra cassette. I'm trying to figure out what I need to swap out to make this work. If I go Ultegra Can I swap the cassette (and possibly chain for wear) or do I need to swap the derailleur, and potentially the shift levers along with it? If I go sram supposedly its compatible, but will it shift poorly because its not shimano?
Well, of course I could be wrong ...

I believe the SRAM Force cassette has 10 cogs ...