Newish rider

CleverName

Oct 31, 2013
Hi all, I'm pretty new to riding. I've been riding for the last two months, about 20 miles a week, and for the last month I've been going to spinning class (3 x week) a really enjoying it. With it the days getting shorter and the weather getting colder, how do you keep in shape? Is spinning the best alternative to riding? O yeah, I'm currently 220 at 5'9" looking to get down to 180.

Originally Posted by CleverName
Hi all, I'm pretty new to riding. I've been riding for the last two months, about 20 miles a week, and for the last month I've been going to spinning class (3 x week) a really enjoying it. With it the days getting shorter and the weather getting colder, how do you keep in shape? Is spinning the best alternative to riding? O yeah, I'm currently 220 at 5'9" looking to get down to 180.
How about buying an indoor traininer and mounting you bike on it? it'd be better than one of those stupid spinning bikes that have a 2ft wide seat and platform pedals. A good recipe 3 times a week to keep you fit could include;

* 1 hr of spare time
* Your bike
* indoor traininer
* some motivating music
* 2 x 20 minute threshold intervals twice a week
* 2 sets of 10 x 20 second max effort intervals once a week. Is a spew session if done properly.

You wont get board, it'll hurt but it'll be over before you know it.

Thanks, for the advice. I don't know much about indoor trainers, any brand you would recommend/features you would recommend?

CleverName said:
Thanks, for the advice. I don't know much about indoor trainers, any brand you would recommend/features you would recommend? 
Kurt Kinetic, CycleTEK, CycleOps, Elite, and on the low cost end (and liked by DCRainmaker) Performance Bike's Ascent trainer. That's all I could think of right off the top of my head.

Originally Posted by alienator