polar own cal accuracy?

nothing personal, but i don't trust anyone who says "trust me" after a comment like yours. and especially on a forum! LOL!
so if you have the time please share your knowledge with us. i have heard several people say they're inaccuate...but i guess i'm a stickler for data.
thanks, rock

rockrock513 said:
nothing personal, but i don't trust anyone who says "trust me" after a comment like yours. and especially on a forum! LOL!
so if you have the time please share your knowledge with us. i have heard several people say they're inaccuate...but i guess i'm a stickler for data.
thanks, rock
Its been a while since I studied physiology, but to get an accurate assessment of how fit you are, you need to be measuring more variables (like oxygen consumption, CO2 output etc.) than just measured HR and perceived effort, and compare that against a standardised measure.

So in terms of accuracy, any measure of fitness that relies on guessing from just heart rate is going to be inaccurate. That's not to say its not useful.

Since what it is measuring is going to be done the same way each time, its usefulness is in that you can use it to monitor CHANGES in your fitness.

Improvements in fitness are going to come up as improvements, no matter how you measure them, as long as the yardstick is the same. Likewise for declines.

n

I'm pretty sure it's not accurate but it might not have to be depending on what you're using it for. I record a few things when I train. Using a CS200 to record calories being burned on various set training runs, over time i can clearly see the up and down trends when I've trained hard or eased off. It gives an indication of improvement over time and it also acts as motivator sometimes. For instance if you see your getting close to an all time high on a run it can make you push harder.

Here's how I think my CS200 is overrating the calories I'm burning;