Specialized diverge a1 11 spd upgrade qs

Aug 6, 2016
I recently purchased a new Specialized Diverge A1. The main reason I'm wanting to upgrade to an 11 speed drive train is i want to be able to run much lower gears than what I have now. I'd like a 42-46t in the rear. I know I'll need a long cage derailer, and most likely only 11 speed cassettes come with that low gearing.

I'm relatively new to upgrading/repairing bikes so I don't completely understand if my current hub will be compatible with an 11 speed cassette. I'm guessing it probably won't. I should just be able to remove my current cassette and measure the hub to see if there is enough clearance? If the hub is not wide enough, does that mean I will have to buy new wheels?

If I do need new wheels, can someone please suggest some compatible wheels, or tell me what I need to look for. My budget is $300-500. Will I be able to run 28mm tires with 25mm outer width wheels? Is carbon in my price range?

If anyone knows of any other considerations that I haven't thought of for this upgrade, please share.

Thanks in advance.

If I'm reading the technical specs for the bike correctly, it came with an 8-speed Sunrace freewheel. If that is the case you will need new wheels.

The Diverge A1 has a $900 MSRP. An 11-speed drive train and wheels (at least a new rear wheel) might set you back $300 on the cheap to $500. Putting together a driveline that will handle that huge cassette gear you're wanting will probably entail buying a higher end derailleur, but you would have to price that out on the web.

Shimano and SRAM make 40 and 42 tooth cassettes for single and double chainring applications, but i think the 46 tooth cassettes are only for use with single chainring setups. Again, this is something you will have to research on the web. Your local Spesh dealer can also advise you as to suitable upgrade combinations.