Training

indielove88

Sep 26, 2010
I am new to cycling and would like to start training for fitness, as well as a future duathlon/triathlon. What is a good training schedule? how often should i ride, how hard should i ride? where do i start?

Any information or resources would be appreciated.

Thanks

AC

Originally Posted by indielove88 .

I am new to cycling and would like to start training for fitness, as well as a future duathlon/triathlon. What is a good training schedule? how often should i ride, how hard should i ride? where do i start?

Any information or resources would be appreciated.

Thanks

AC
There isn't really a should in your case - at least, not one that I can assess without knowing more about where you are in terms of your current fitness, and more information about your specific goals.

However, since you presumably don't have much a cycling base, or perhaps not even much of a fitness base, start with getting solid base miles under your belt by progressively increasing your mileage. Once you get your base miles under your belt, you can really start thinking about "training" by adding some intensity days (and active recovery days) into your week.

[SIZE= 14px]I'm fairly fit, but i'm a runner by nature, not a cyclist. I look forward to getting into cycling though. [/SIZE]