What are my options for adjusting stem height?

davesharp

Dec 25, 2009
I have tried searching for the information I need, unfortunately I'm not mechanically savvy and I know you guys are basically industry pro's by the looks of it, so I need your help with this.

My problem is that craning my neck forward to look up results in a stiff neck, and after long riding becomes quite sore and limits my cycling.

I am new to the sport, so I don't know much about mechanical changes to my bike, I have a Giant Defy 3 with Shimano Tiagra gears (if that helps haha :eek:).
giant_defy3.jpg

I've been told that to fix my neck issue I need to raise the height of my stem, I've had a play around and can't work out how to do it.

My questions are these:
- could stem height be a contributing factor in my neck soreness?
- will an adjustment to stem height require the purchase of a new stem (if so, how much will this cost for mid range stem)
- If I can adjust current stem, how do I do this?

Dave.

davesharp said:
I have tried searching for the information I need, unfortunately I'm not mechanically savvy and I know you guys are basically industry pro's by the looks of it, so I need your help with this.

My problem is that craning my neck forward to look up results in a stiff neck, and after long riding becomes quite sore and limits my cycling.

I am new to the sport, so I don't know much about mechanical changes to my bike, I have a Giant Defy 3 with Shimano Tiagra gears (if that helps haha :eek:).
giant_defy3.jpg

I've been told that to fix my neck issue I need to raise the height of my stem, I've had a play around and can't work out how to do it.

My questions are these:
- will an adjustment to stem height require the purchase of a new stem (if so, how much will this cost for mid range stem)

Dave.

-Could be but it could be other things as well.