3 weeks till first cat 5

feder04

Jul 19, 2005
I guess it can be said that I'm new to the sport of cycling. I'm 18 years old and have always enjoyed the sight of the pelotone gliding across the course.

Today I decided to enter my first cat 5 race. The race is three weeks away and I am really looking forward to it. I've never raced on a bike nor have I ever trained on one, so really I guess I dont know what I'm getting myself into. But still, I am going to follow through.

The course is made up of 5 laps around a flat 2 1/4 mile long field.

I ride my Specialized Allez on a daily basis but have never really trained at a consistant speed. Still, I really do want to work toward this in this short period of time. Can anyone give me some tips on what I can do over these next three weeks? What would an average lap time be for a course like this? All help is welcomed and I plan to keep this thread updated with my progress.

feder04 said:
I guess it can be said that I'm new to the sport of cycling. I'm 18 years old and have always enjoyed the sight of the pelotone gliding across the course.

Today I decided to enter my first cat 5 race. The race is three weeks away and I am really looking forward to it. I've never raced on a bike nor have I ever trained on one, so really I guess I dont know what I'm getting myself into. But still, I am going to follow through.

The course is made up of 5 laps around a flat 2 1/4 mile long field.

I ride my Specialized Allez on a daily basis but have never really trained at a consistant speed. Still, I really do want to work toward this in this short period of time. Can anyone give me some tips on what I can do over these next three weeks? What would an average lap time be for a course like this? All help is welcomed and I plan to keep this thread updated with my progress.
Just ride as much as you can :). Keeping your heart rate up is a good idea too (don't take it too easy).