650C vs. 700C wheels - Need advice

trekker1500

Sep 8, 2004
Hello All,

This is my first visit to this message board. I have been riding seriously for about 15 years. I've got a 12-year old Trek 1400 with 700C wheels. It's maybe time for a new bike. I'm looking at a Trek 1500 WSD. It has 650C wheels, and I'm wondering what experience people have had with them. I've stayed away from women's frames in the past because of this. I always assumed the smaller wheels would put me at a disadvantage.

I don't ride with groups much. But I do like to occasionally. I live in a VERY hilly area and have to do some climbing. I think the smaller wheels may be to my advantage there. But do they make keeping up with the pack difficult?

I'm 5'3" with long legs and short torso. My 1400 is 51cm and the 1500 WSD I'm considering is also 51cm. Both have 170 cranks.

Thanks for any advice.
Shannon ([email protected])

Used to have a link or two about that...due to some "technical difficulties" I no longer have it.

All I can remember is that 650s might be a little rougher, and since they are smaller, there is a small chance that you are slower than other people on 700s...

i am 5'4 and have no problem with 700C wheels. if you can try both, do it. I don't much care for compact frames so WSD doesn't appeal to me. disadvantages really stem from compatibility-650C tires, wheels, tubes are less common. I would really urge you to stick with 700's if you can!

AMY

trekker1500 said:
Hello All,

This is my first visit to this message board. I have been riding seriously for about 15 years. I've got a 12-year old Trek 1400 with 700C wheels. It's maybe time for a new bike. I'm looking at a Trek 1500 WSD. It has 650C wheels, and I'm wondering what experience people have had with them. I've stayed away from women's frames in the past because of this. I always assumed the smaller wheels would put me at a disadvantage.