8 minute threshold test: Opinions?

AdamW

Mar 28, 2005
I recently had my first true power test. I do not own a power meter and this was a free offer to get introduced to power training and power meters. It was an 8 minute all-out effort to determine my threshold power. My average power over the 8 minutes was multiplied by 0.92 to determine threshold power. I hadn't heard of this test before. What are your opinions on this determination? Reasonable give or take so many watts? Biased in any way? Thanks!

Adam

8 minutes???

When I was a fresh newbie after reading the book training with the power meter I went by the 20 minute effort which was part of a longer effort but now after doing enough training for different lengths of time and different intensities I would have to say unless you can hold a wattage for one hour I do not consider that my ftp.

-Js

AdamW said:
I recently had my first true power test. I do not own a power meter and this was a free offer to get introduced to power training and power meters. It was an 8 minute all-out effort to determine my threshold power. My average power over the 8 minutes was multiplied by 0.92 to determine threshold power. I hadn't heard of this test before. What are your opinions on this determination? Reasonable give or take so many watts? Biased in any way? Thanks!

Adam

AdamW said:

Adam
Carmichael thingy I believe? Not a good thingy. Too much AWC: maybe 10-15%. Bias up/high. Bad test. Revise and resubmit. :D

Seriously though if you search CP or Monod here, you'll find that as the maximal effort exercise duration shortens, the contribution of anaerobic energy sources rises. That's lumped into a parameter known as AWC.

AWC is a notoriously variable wee beasty. Prone to all sorts of idiosyncratic behavior and typically highly responsive to acute training. IOW, it can vary a lot depending on personal characteristics AND how you've been training recently.