afraid to ride again because of suspected chain derailment problem

urge2kill

Aug 13, 2013
Summary My chain seems to be coming off the crankset. How can I check for problems? I had an accident three days ago, and I might be able to attribute it to this problem. I've still got road rash and various other abrasions from the last accident. The Story Three days ago, I had my first serious brush against the street pavement in my two years of this. In a narrow construction zone, I was rushing up my gears for the cars stuck behind me, then I found myself hurled forward and sliding against the pavement. I couldn't remember what happened except that my feet came off the pedals. Today, I checked my bicycle before leaving for class. Everything looked fine, I just had to realign the handlebars with the wheel. When I started riding, the chain came off the crankset. I put the chain back on, and it came off again. I put it on again, and it remained there. I'm fairly certain that I put the chain back on all the way—I wasn't afraid to get my fingers greasy. Well, as I rode, I wondered whether this problem was the result or the cause of my accident. I went back home. Maintenance History In my 2+ years of riding, I never had good maintenance. For the last half a year, my derailleur/chain has been indecisive in certain gears, but I didn't care to do further H/L adjustments as long as my chain wasn't coming off the cogset. I've never had my chain come off the crankset before, though.

1) time to check those H/L screws. Use Park tools walk through, or any of the numerous youtube tutorials.
2) it is POSSIBLE to bend a chainring. Give the cranks a turn and watch for trueness.

"In my 2+ years of riding, I never had good maintenance."

For your own safety it is time you did.

Take your bike into a local shop, explain your crash story and ask them to go over the bike from one end to the other.

it is a straight forward gear adjustment job, leave it to the bike shop