(Another) Beginner Who Needs Buying Advice

MG2010

Dec 16, 2009
Hi. I am likely the thousandth new cyclist to ask for advice, but hopefully someone out there will be kind enough to oblige me and make a good suggestion or two. Thanks for the help (and sorry for using the forum for my own personal needs).

OK, so here's a brief description of what I'm looking for. I will use the bike to commute around 18 miles round-trip daily, but sometimes I will make long weekend rides with friends. So I am thinking that a road or urban (if there's even a difference) bike will be best. Upright riding position is important - I want to be comfortable, and I am not necessarily interested in speed. The roads where I live are not ideal for cycling, so the bike should be tough/durable. As a true beginner, I definitely want something low maintenance that will not require much upkeep - I wouldn't know where to start if something were to go wrong with the bike. My budget is ~$1200, so my options may be somewhat limited.

So far, I've looked at Trek and Cannondale online and at local bike shops. The most appealing I've seen so far is the Trek Valencia. Is this model anywhere near what I need? There are many other brands out there that I haven't explored yet, so any and all advice is most appreciated. Thanks for the help. I've been saving for a few months, so this will be an important investment

I am personally not familiar with the Trek Valencia but the best advice I ever got when buying my first road bike was go out and ride them. If you have several local shops go to each one and explain to them what you are looking for. Try out a few different bikes, some shops even let you have extended test rides where you can ride it for a few days. Once you have gone to a few shops and done a few test rides you should have 1-2 bikes that speak to you. These become the ones on your short list.