Around the Bay

Dave80

May 5, 2006
How did people go?

I just read Hitchy's (he posts here a fair bit) post on BV website (good post true, funny and sad all in one) and thought I would start a thread here (hey, I'm studying and running out of ways to procastinate).

We (girlfriend, mate from work and I) had a great time doing Sorrento to Melbourne. We started at ten to eight and avoided much of the traffic that was forming at Sorrento - I think this was the best 'd' of the day as it meant we had little bike traffic to contend with until the last few kms. Saw two prangs (both occured in areas where it was raining).

Weather was good - a bit of rain but nothing to bad (as long as you noticed it was raining and allowed for it). The hills weren't a problem, all that riding around templestowe must be paying off.

We finished in four hours and my mate and I felt good to do another 50km. With a moderate increase in training we should be good for 210km next year (the upcoming replacement of the Shogun flat bar with a Scott CR1 Team should also help).

Hats off to the three guys on unicycles that we saw. We passed them about 5-10km out of Sorrento and saw one of them finishing 3 hours after we finished (stuck around to have fish and chips at docklands). The guy was spinning so quickly and going so slowly - i've got no idea how they went up or down the hills. Super effort! Also was impressed by a couple of guys we saw 'hand pedalling' looked like bloody hard work!

Only negative was a feeling that we didn't really get much value for the $ it cost to enter: lunch turn off wasn't signposted and we missed it, at one point the absence of signs/volunter meant we enjoyed a few extra kms and the jersey problem.

How did others fair?

pretty smooth sailing for us. hardly any cues. we did queenscliffe, sorreto, melbourne.

everyone rode really well as far as i saw. last year i saw lots of idiots.

it was freezing but i wore a jacket to keep warm.