Base Training

sammiedog

Oct 23, 2003
I have been cycling for three years now I mainly do 10 mile TTs and would like to do some 25's.
I recently read that at this time of year i should do rides at 55 to 70% of heart rate i have tried this on the same easyish route on i-magic trainer 20 mile that is taking around 1 hr.After three weeks of this i have noticed my average heart rate is getting lower even though my time is sometimes faster so it is doing some good but it seems very easy, should i continue and when should i start some speed work .
Thanks in advance Robert.

sammiedog said:
I have been cycling for three years now I mainly do 10 mile TTs and would like to do some 25's.
I recently read that at this time of year i should do rides at 55 to 70% of heart rate i have tried this on the same easyish route on i-magic trainer 20 mile that is taking around 1 hr.After three weeks of this i have noticed my average heart rate is getting lower even though my time is sometimes faster so it is doing some good but it seems very easy, should i continue and when should i start some speed work .
Thanks in advance Robert.
Yesterday after doing my final 1 minute plus burst at 350Watts I noticed my HR was at it's highest ever since I took up doing serious workouts. 172BPM when the maxHR for someone my age should be around 155 plus or minus a tad. And as I was still feeling fairly good - that wasn't my max. The rest, I'll let other people answer. TYSON ;)

When I was training using heart rate alone I thought I was doing low L3 when I was really doing low L4 and I couldn't figure out why I couldn't maintain it very long.

Sillyoldtwit said:
Yesterday after doing my final 1 minute plus burst at 350Watts I noticed my HR was at it's highest ever since I took up doing serious workouts. 172BPM when the maxHR for someone my age should be around 155 plus or minus a tad. And as I was still feeling fairly good - that wasn't my max. The rest, I'll let other people answer. TYSON ;)