Best type of bike lock...

mrbojangles

Jul 16, 2011
Hello all,

I'm new to London cycling and trying to figure everything out. I locked my bike to a rail last night, with one of the locks that looks like a U and clicks into a bar, apologies, I don't know the name of the lock, and also a basic bike cable. I assumed everything would be alright, but I returned after work to find that although my bike was still fastened by the cable, the U-lock had been broken off, and one of my lights was stolen.

The U lock was nowhere to be seen, so I need to find a better way to secure my bike. I was wondering what the best method is? Is it the heavy duty chains? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

First off if security is an issue the forget the cable type of locks unless your combining it with a far better lock. Kryptonite U-Locks are the best especially the Evolution 4. The longer U bolt's are better because it allow you to remove the front wheel and place it along side the rear and then lock the front and rear wheel with the frame rear stays to a bike rack. Using a cable lock in addition to the U-bolt will serve to slow down and frustrate a would be thief and you can again lock all the wheels and frame to the rack with it, just get the thickest cable you can find. Some people use the U-bolt lock to lock the cable, others use a separate lock, I like the idea of a separate lock so the thief would have to defeat both.

Chains like the Krpyto New York Fahgettaboudit are the toughest locks to defeat, but their also very heavy and a pain to carry around.

Keep in mind, NO LOCK IS THEFT PROOF! If you have a high value bike and live in a risky area or take the bike to a risky area your better off spending the money that you would spend for fancy locks and just buy a clunker and a cheap lock and park it in the risky area and save your good bike for when your riding but not going to be parking it.