Buying the right chainset

satvinder90

Apr 14, 2013
Hi all,

Im an absolute rookie on cycling but have agreed to do a 250 mile bike ride for charity in the upcoming months. Currently I ride a Carerra TDF with a 52/38 chainset which is absolutely killing me on an incline and on a straight i feel like im not going quick enough.

A description of me would be: 5 9, quite fit, rookie to cycling.

Just wondering what chainset would be suitable for me. Just take note that I am a student and on a budget.

Any advice would be deeply appreciated.

Kind regards,

Okay, so the link shows that you have a 12-26T rear cassette. By your brief description, I suspect you may not yet have a good gear-shifting strategy, but you may want to change the cassette as well.

First off, you need to figure out what a good cadence is for you to pedal. This is how fast you spin the pedals. Many people start out trying to muscle through a slow RPM, which is hard on the knees and will burn your legs up in just a few miles (though there are a few people who can ride this way for long distances). Typically, a recommended cadence would be 80-90 RPM. If you don't have a cadence meter, you can count your pedal strokes for 15 seconds and multiply by 4 (or some other combination of factors of 60). How fast you FEEL like you're going is irrelevant. You need to pedal with an effort and RPM that you can sustain. Choose a gear combination that allows you to do this and that also keeps the chain as straight as possible. In other words, don't ride the big-big combo and don't ride the small-small combo--those are both intermediate ratios that can be attained with a different combination that keeps the chain much straighter.