can i race this bike with some upgrades

kspain12

Apr 19, 2010
hello...im very new to this sport...but i just obtained a raleigh supercourse....the guy said it was a 2001..but i know its not...i saw a picture of the exact bike online and it said it was an early 90's bike...i bought it for 260...and i love it...but i want to race it very bad..there are races all of the time in my community...i just really need to know what i need to put on this bike...so that i can potentially win a race...my riding partner has a trek all carbon fiber bike...and with the bike as is....i beat him in all of our rides...so what do ya think i need to buy? thanks..

The basic answer is “Yes” and you probably don’t upgrades as much as maintenance. Make sure the bike is safe, have the wheels checked for trueness, roundness and to make sure the rims are not cracked. Replace the cables and tires and have bearings repacked. You’ll probably also need a new chain and rear cassette or freewheel (Warning this can cost more than the price of the bike) You probably are not going to win, place or show the first event you enter anyway so having a bike that will save you 2 minutes over 4 hours is not going to make any difference. You can use an inexpensive bike to 1. Learn how to improve your technique 2. Learn how to set a bike up to your body for efficiency and comfort 3. Train and grow stronger.

You may also very well find out that you like the older heavier bike better for long solo rides because older bikes can normally carry wider tires and typically had a bit slacker geometry and more bracket drop which gave them a more stable ride. (This is not always true just most of the time)