Cars that "block the box"

Tonnystark

Sep 11, 2019
When at a red light on your bike in a bike lane, what is your approach to cars that block the box and enter the intersection when they can't make it all the way through? When your light turns green do you weave in between stationary cars? even if traffic starts to move? wait for the intersection to clear and then proceed? something else?

What am I, as a bicyclist, legally supposed to do in such a situation?

FWIW, I want to be a good bicyclist citizen, but people who do this generally appear to do it on purpose and then seem to get irritated when I cross in front of them.

First off NEVER weave through traffic, it's illegal but never enforced, and it's dangerous.

I'm going to say something now that most people will think I'm from another planet, I think most people here already think that anyways! I've been riding for over 40 years, I rode a lot of miles in major cities like Los Angeles BEFORE there were bike lanes, and I rode many miles where there were bike lanes, I've seen and read about a lot of accidents involving motorists and cyclists and I have determined in the last few months that bike lanes are more of a danger to cyclists than without! What? you scream at me! Follow my insanity for a moment.