Crankset compatibilty

Spikejns

Jan 28, 2008
I am new to biking, well I have reentered biking and wow have things changed. Anyway I Have a Trek bike and have purchased a new crank set Alivio and it xcame with a large 42 tooth chainring. I would like to get a 44 tooth. What do i need to be aware of for getting the correct chainring & what chains work with it and lastly I am also considering a new front derailleur also a Shimano XTR M952 that will fit my bike as far as the tube diameter goes, but will it work with the above crankset and chainring change?

Spikejns said:
I am new to biking, well I have reentered biking and wow have things changed. Anyway I Have a Trek bike and have purchased a new crank set Alivio and it xcame with a large 42 tooth chainring. I would like to get a 44 tooth. What do i need to be aware of for getting the correct chainring & what chains work with it and lastly I am also considering a new front derailleur also a Shimano XTR M952 that will fit my bike as far as the tube diameter goes, but will it work with the above crankset and chainring change?
99% probability that you need a 104 BCD 4-arm chainring ... but, if you're getting a larger chainring, you may want to consider a 46t (or, even a 48t) chainring.

Unless you damaged the bike's front derailleur, you will probably not see/feel any difference in shifting that some proper maintenance wouldn't give you.

Yes what I read on the crankset is that it has a 104 bolt pattern and I have a new chain. I am assuming I will need more links. The New Front Derailuer I am considering (Shimano XTR M952) says it is compatible with a 9 speed chain. If I read correctly a 9 speed chain has a narrow profile to match the 9 speed rear cogs, but I don't see how it would effect the front derailuer. Also are the chainrings different for different chains? The chain I have is a Shimano CN-IG70. I believe it is a standard width chain.

Spikejns said: