Does equipment make a big difference? your opinions please

wannatour

Oct 20, 2005
I am a newbie, I dont even own a bike I am borrowing a friend of the family's old Raleigh all aluminum road bike the downtube shifters were converted to STI and the left shifter does not work. I commute 12 miles a day to work and am torn between several bikes, Ibex xray, K2 Enemy, Kona JTS, but at any rate, I am in good shape, young(24), and an old guy on a Bianchi passed me on the trail on my way to work. He had the full get up, cycling clothes and clipless pedals, shifters that appeared to work, and I was able to keep up for a little bit but he was getting ahead of me. Would better gearing and clipless pedals made a big difference? Am I just weak?

wannatour said:
I am a newbie, I dont even own a bike I am borrowing a friend of the family's old Raleigh all aluminum road bike the downtube shifters were converted to STI and the left shifter does not work. I commute 12 miles a day to work and am torn between several bikes, Ibex xray, K2 Enemy, Kona JTS, but at any rate, I am in good shape, young(24), and an old guy on a Bianchi passed me on the trail on my way to work. He had the full get up, cycling clothes and clipless pedals, shifters that appeared to work, and I was able to keep up for a little bit but he was getting ahead of me. Would better gearing and clipless pedals made a big difference? Am I just weak?
The kids I drop are just weak, and don't know how to pedal a bike. No amount of money thrown at equipment will change that. Eat more spinach and train harder.

so buyuing a bike to fit with reliable componets wont make much of a difference in speed? Do clipless pedals make a difference?
boudreaux said:
The kids I drop are just weak, and don't know how to pedal a bike. No amount of money thrown at equipment will change that. Eat more spinach and train harder.

Equipment makes a difference, but not that much, and not in the way you might think.