Getting Started

sdcaliwoman

Jun 8, 2010
Hello,

As a novice I am interested in any advice available. I am literally getting started on a healthy lifestyle. What do you guys think are important things to focus on? Are their foods that energize you? Should I have a day of rest?

Thanks.

Welcome aboard!

Since I'm the first to reply I get to state the most obvious and easy answers. :D

Diet and exercise are 2 key components to a healthy lifestyle.

Your current state of health and your age is a big factor in how you approach your eating habits and how much you should be exercising.

By state of health I mean:

Are you over weight or under weight?

How much exercise to you currently get?

Do you have any health issues that influence your diet and/or ability to exercise? ( Diabetes, heart trouble, high blood pressure, bad back, etc.)

Do a self evaluation to see what you think your current state of health is and then decide where you need to improve.

A person who is 30 years old and 10 lbs over weight, who doesn't get much exercise but is in good general health can be a bit more aggressive in making a lifestyle change than a person that's over 50 years old with a history of heart trouble.

I'm going to let some of the other folks take it from here. Good luck to you! :cool:

I think paramount has asked some good questions to further know where you stand. what are your goals...I.E. long distance cycling or just getting out and pushing some miles to get healthy?

In general, eating healthy (limiting the amount of junk food I.E. fast food, saturated fats like potato chips, fries etc. soda pop...) no matter what kind of cycling you are looking to do, eating healthier and getting the cardio excercise that cycling offers will help you loose weight.