Hill sprints

al-xc

Jun 24, 2003
Hi,
I devote one day a week of precious training time to hill sprint reps that go to a maximum of 60 secs. I hate them, I'm not good at them and I am wondering if they are really beneficial?
The fact that I'm weak in this area probably means that they ARE of benefit. Any thoughts?

Thanks, Al

Originally posted by al-xc
Hi,
I devote one day a week of precious training time to hill sprint reps that go to a maximum of 60 secs. I hate them, I'm not good at them and I am wondering if they are really beneficial?
The fact that I'm weak in this area probably means that they ARE of benefit. Any thoughts?
Thanks, Al

You are right to think that just because you are weak in this area that they are likely to benafit you. Also consider, are you improving at them? The people who are poor climbers tend to be the people who avoid hills.

Sometimes there are better ways to get good at something. For example, some people can't climb well because they are overweight - so its best for them to spend some time on weight loss. Similarly the thing that could be holding you back is your aerobic or anaerobic capacity, or your technique and for all of these there might be better ways to train.

The amount of rest you have inbetween these repetitions has a massive impact on the effect of the session on your body and needs considering too.

My advice is therfore consider what actualy makes you bad at performing this type of effort and then complete training that allows you to address that weakness specificaly. Who knows it might be 60 sec hill repeats or might be something more enjoyable.

Originally posted by al-xc
Hi,

Thanks, Al

Al,

The other thing to consider is: when you race (or whatever you do) are you poor on these short hills (i.e., < 60-secs) or are they longer hills that you suffer on?

Ric

Hi Ric,