How do I find out the measurements of my bike?

Leaf

May 16, 2006
I got a road bike given to me. I just started riding it and experienced, back pain and hand pain (from leaning forward on my hands). Im 5'9. 180 PDS. What size bike do I want? How do I measure the bike? And could this back pain / hand pain just been attributed to inactivity on the bike or does it have to do with the handle bar height and seat height? If so how do I fit my bike to my size?

Please and thanks.

The problem with seat tube measurement is that it will vary depending on the top tube angle. Compact frames make this measurement less useful.

A more important measurement is top tube length, but this needs to be measured on a horizontal plane to be able to compare it to different frames, compact or not.

To make a bike fit you need to get the seat height right and it's fore aft position. Both of these can be calculated by measuring yourself and by using a plumb line while sitting on the bike. Go googling. The next most important adjustment is stem length, and this usually means purchasing a new stem.

Good luck.

Also when I have my bike in the easiest gear it seems to skip... at least it makes a weird noise. I had a tuneup, I assume everything on this bike is in tip top shape since then... am I wrong?

Just because a bike shop has tuned your bike it doesn't mean that it's likely to be all 100% ok.

You should buy a good bicycle maintenance book, like "Zinn & the art of bicycle maintenance" and have a go at it yourself.

Bicycles really need constant attention and tweaking for them to stay at their best, and paying someone to do this doesn't make sense.

It sounds like you may have a little cable stretch in your rear derailleur.

miyata610 said:
Just because a bike shop has tuned your bike it doesn't mean that it's likely to be all 100% ok.

You should buy a good bicycle maintenance book, like "Zinn & the art of bicycle maintenance" and have a go at it yourself.