Indoor Training Question

stuck

Jan 9, 2004
Hello All,

I am new to cycling and plan to try a couple 150 - 250 KM fast rides by the end of this summer. Presently doing all my training on an indoor trainer (3-6 hours a week). Since I am relatively new to this sport I really do not know very much about cycle training. I try to vary my workouts to keep boredom at bay. But I really do not know if I should be doing other workouts to be able to complete my goal rides.

At the moment I have two main workouts:

10 min warm up
Spin for 60 Minutes (~90 rpm) (~135-150 BPM)
5-10 Min Cool Down

or

10 min warm up (~90rpm)
5 Min Largest gear - Medium resistance (~80-90 RPM) (~160 -165 BPM)
5 Min Drop to small front Sprocket - Medium Resistance (~90-100 RPM) (~140-150 BPM)
I will repeat this 5 times then a 5 - 10 Min Cool down.

My Max Heart Rate is 188.

My questions are: Am I gaining very much from these workouts that will help me acheive my goals?

Also I want to work on my pedaling style. What drills can I try on the indoor trainer to give me a smooth pedal stroke?

I would appreciate any advise thank you very much for your time.

Stuck

I'm going to leave the first part to those with more knowledge. Sounds like a pretty decent workout though! I assume weather is keeping you off the road, but as soon as you can get out and get some long slow miles in!!

On the pedal stroke, try using one leg at a time. Concentrate on making smooth circles and constant power. Do each leg several minutes at a time then see how it feels with both. It should help you with your smoothness as well as equality in power for both legs. (I'm really technical, huh? ;) )

I'm sure you'll get lots more advise, but I love the one leg thing and it really has shown me where I need work.
Here are some things to read.

http://www.active.com/story.cfm?story_id=5797
http://www.kevinlippert.com/workouts.php?show=3&CAmenuOpen=on
http://www.tbfreewheelers.com/Tips/circular.html