Legs, Cardio, or both?

ILLUMINAIRE

Sep 3, 2004
I'm new to cycling so bear with me. I've read enough to know that higher cadences work cardio more than legs, etc. I've also read that it's best to balance out the amount of work your legs and cardio system do to be the most effective. However, I'm not at the point of knowing precisely where this is for me yet.

I would like to work on both legs and cardio but I would like to know in what fashion I should do this. For instance, should I spend one day just focusing on one or the other then alternate? Or should I go back and forth between the two during one particular ride?

Just FYI... I tend to ride about 10-15 miles if I ride during the week but always do a 30 mile ride on the weekend. Thanks for the advice!

ILLUMINAIRE said:
I'm new to cycling so bear with me. I've read enough to know that higher cadences work cardio more than legs, etc. I've also read that it's best to balance out the amount of work your legs and cardio system do to be the most effective. However, I'm not at the point of knowing precisely where this is for me yet.

I would like to work on both legs and cardio but I would like to know in what fashion I should do this. For instance, should I spend one day just focusing on one or the other then alternate? Or should I go back and forth between the two during one particular ride?

Just FYI... I tend to ride about 10-15 miles if I ride during the week but always do a 30 mile ride on the weekend. Thanks for the advice!

Due to knee problems preventing me from running, I started serious biking about 10 months ago and also read a lot about balancing cardio and leg work. You will know when you should push one compare to the other. Basically when the legs are starting to burn it's time to step to an easier gear and spin faster. When your heart rate is going to the sky switch to an higher gear and use your legs more.